top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexi Venezia

VIII: Open Up: An Open Letter To Anyone Who May Need To Hear It

Updated: Oct 29, 2020

Hey, how are you doing? How are you really doing? I get it… I decided to dedicate this post to just writing an open letter, that sort of thing. I know it’s been a minute… A long minute since I’ve hopped aboard my positivity train, I’m sorry for that! I've said it before, but I want this to feel genuine. When I feel down, you can definitely tell, and that's so not my vibe. I did not mean to peace out from April until now... But hey! I’m back! And I’ve definitely got some things to say. Like I’ve said before… All trains, no matter where they're going, experience delays sometimes... right?


So join me today, this is a letter for you, for your friend, for your family, for anyone that needs to hear it:



Hey you.


I’ve got some things to tell you. I know it may be about six months (and counting) since you’ve seen some of your people. I really did not think that back in March, I would be saying some goodbyes and see you laters to some very important people in my life with the intention of not seeing them for half a year. I really didn’t. I know it seems like video technology isn’t even hitting the same way anymore. We’ve adjusted to this and we were forced to become comfortable with ‘the new reality’. I want to tell you that it’s okay to feel like things are hard and even a little irritating, because they still are. In the beginning, it felt like a strong sense of community was banning together and the “we’re in this together” commercials felt like they meant something. Now, it’s fair to feel like they seem hollow. I never like to say that I understand what you’re going through, because everyone’s struggle is different and personal. But I will say this, I empathize with you. Also if you need someone, anyone, just to listen and be candid with you, I’m right where you can find me (so don’t hesitate to come find me! I’m here for you!)


For a minute, I also became unaffected by the bright signs of “we will get through this”, because sometimes, it doesn’t feel like we will. All of that being said, I have one thing to say, please don’t give up and please don’t give in. You are not powerless, you do matter, and while it’s going to take time, it will be okay and we ARE in this together. We WILL get through this. I really believe that. Start telling yourself some positive affirmations, it will actually help you. Each day, we’re one day closer to this being over. Take it one day at a time and don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Thank yourself from time to time for what you are able to accomplish day to day. You’re doing your best, and please know that you are enough. I’ll say that again for people in the back, you are enough. You were born enough.



I may have talked about this before, but this is important to my creators and artists, so I will absolutely say it again. While I was finishing my undergrad studies online back in March- May of this year, one of my professors had challenged us to be creative for five minutes a day. Just a simple five minutes a day. Everyone has creativity inside them, even if it’s just a little. In the beginning, everyone was determined to keep creating. While we’ve done a good job, don’t give up on this. It’s easy to fall out of creativity and just let it go, but as soon as you do this, you lose who you are. Don’t lose yourself because things are tough out there. You are still you, and you are still amazing. If no one has told you today, I believe in you and your dreams. Keep going. You’ve got this. Your passions make you strong!


Also! Think of what you do have going for you too! I know, I know. Maybe it’s not a whole lot. But think of it this way. Instead of putting so much pressure on yourself right now, try controlling what you can control. This virus and new protocols? Completely out of our control. But if we just follow the guidelines, stick to doing things in a safe way, and just be patient, we will get there. I am beyond thankful for the people that I find ways to talk to with the technology that I have access to. And yes, while I said sometimes it feels like video tech isn’t the same anymore, I would be completely lost without my weekly Google Hangout game sessions with a couple of my friends! (Shoutout to The D Team, you know who you are ;) *wink* )



I know timelines are weird right now, and I know there’s still so many question marks. We would all like this to be over, but we can do this. Don’t lose yourself in the process. I’m writing this to you on day 153 of quarantine. Have I been keeping track? Yes. Should I be? I mean… but it’s so easy to get into the mindset of “I’ll just do it tomorrow since everyday is the same”. I’ll be the first to tell you that I’ve fallen into this trap. And that’s real, and it’s okay. There are times when I feel like quarantine has won and I’m alone. But I have to take a step back and remember that I’m not. I like to think of something good that had happened to be during the day. Each day I’m thankful for the health and safety measures that are being taken to keep me, and everyone else, as safe as possible. I’m doing well and I’m safe, but I’m the first advocate for mental health and mental health awareness. I’m not trying to downplay the fact that there is a pandemic and people are suffering, that’s not what I mean at all (also please continue to wash your hands and be aware!), but just allow yourself to remember that your mental health matters too. Don’t think yourself into situations that will allow your mind to spiral, that’s not productive at all. And I also totally get that it’s not just a matter of stopping. A good friend of mine said to me, “don’t talk about stopping, talk about evolving”. If you’re trying to pick yourself back up, don’t think of it as a “stop” to being upset/ anxious/ depressed, whathaveyou, think of yourself evolving to a state that will make you happier again. It might not always be upward, but it’s always onward. Keep moving forward...


Things are still messy, but it’s going to be okay and I really mean that. You will be okay. If you start looking for some light, I promise, you will find some.



As always, I’m gonna leave you with some song lyrics. Music is my thing and I love some good dramatic lyrics to end with…


“There’s no need to explain, I know that we can relate. Can we get up and try to feel okay again? Okay!” (OK by Wallows)


Stand Clear Of The Closing Doors Please,

Lex


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page