top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexi Venezia

IV: The Upside

Hi Hello! I hope you’re doing what makes you happy today. Have you talked to a friend? Pet your animals? Taken a walk? Done some stretches? Don’t forget to breathe. I know I’ve dedicated two entire posts to the infamous Ms. Corona, but this time I wanted to share a couple tips and just some things that I found to be helpful!



1: Got that good playlist? Use it!

I’m a music junkie. I’ve got music for every and any mood. You’re happy? I’ve got a playlist for that. Heartbroken? You bet I’ve got a playlist for that! Feel like you’re walking down a runway? Got you covered friend! Dramatic underscore for anything you could possibly need that for? Oh, my specialty! Now, everyone says music is a universal language, SPOILER: It’s actually not. I’ve read so many articles, and even talked to an ethnomusicologist about how music is most definitely not a universal language. We all experience music differently and hey! That’s what makes the world go ‘round! We’re not going to have the same reaction to every piece of music, every harmony, every melodic pattern-- because we’re all different people. While I think music is definitely a universal practice, it’s not a universal language. That doesn’t mean you can’t agree on a piece of music and think, wow, this song makes me sad. That’s so valid. But if you associate that song with a sad period of your life, when it’s an otherwise happy song, that reaction is completely all your own. I digress…. Find music that you like listening to and bump it. Play it through your speaker or headphones. Listening to songs you like, no matter what they are, is such a therapeutic experience. Music actually does have the power to change moods, so let music make you happy. Or if you wanna get in your feels about this, let music help you with that too. There’s no rules when it comes to music. Maybe you like to make music, be it sound design or playing an instrument, that’s dope too! Rock and roll baby!


2: Keep your normalcy

Try to see if you can live your life as normally as you can. I know we’re all in quarantine right now but don’t let that stop you from everything. Do things that feel right and feel normal to do; like your daily routine if you can. For me personally, that means putting on my bracelets and rings. It’s a super small thing, but it matters to me. If you know me, you’ve seen my bracelets and I’ve got a lot of them. I’ve got probably close to 15 bracelets on my right arm, and one (with a hair tie and a scrunchie-- yes, two different things) on my left. A normal day includes me putting all of my usual bracelets on my right arm, with my two rings on my right hand. Then, I put my one bracelet, hair tie and scrunchie, and one wave ring on my left hand. It doesn’t have to be so specific, maybe normalcy for you means getting dressed for the day. Maybe getting up and making yourself your favorite morning coffee or tea. The more normal you can make it for yourself, the better. Find a way to make it all make sense.



3: Imagine This Getting Better

I got this one from my mom, so thank you mom! My mom is a big believer in the vision board and the power of voicing your dreams. She has created vision boards for her goals and dreams and just by looking at them everyday and speaking these things that you want into the future, your subconscious mind knows that this is something you want. By doing this, you’re already manifesting. You don’t necessarily need to create a whole vision board if you don’t want to, but if you want to, hang it up somewhere where you’ll see it everyday. You’ve got to see it in order to keep it at the forefront of your mind.

So take that, and apply it to this. Imagine this getting better. Whatever your vision of better is for you, as personal as you want it to be, just imagine this getting better. For me, that means heading back to the city that I love with my whole heart, and being with my people again. It also means everyone I love is safe and healthy. Part of something that helps me, is the idea of all the cool things my friends and I will get to do together again someday. We’re going to be back in the city-- our city, before we know it. This is just a pause in the plan.


4: Make Lists of What You’re Gonna Do

This could literally mean anything but! It’s important to make note of what you’re going to do! This could totally tie into your vision of how this is going to get better. I have a list of things that I plan to do the minute this gets better. At the top of my list? Some kind of commencement celebration with my fellow Marymount Manhattan class of 2020 seniors. That’s on my list as well as some other cool things that I’m more than excited about. I’ve got things I need to accomplish too, and I will get them done.


Maybe make yourself a fun list of all the shows and movies you want to watch during all of this. Or even some podcasts if you’re into those. No time like the present to get those movies in that you’ve been meaning to watch. Binge that Netflix baking show that’s been at the top of your list for a while now. Start that series on Hulu that you’ve been meaning to check out for forever now. It’ll take your mind off anything else for a minute and might even bring you some ease from the world outside. When things have gotten tough for me, I used to watch Portlandia. That was my show that allowed me to just zone out and not pay attention to anything around me, but the show itself. Currently, I’m on a mission to listen to as many podcast episodes of My Brother, My Brother, and Me as possible, and that does the trick for making me smile and putting my mind at ease!


5: Don’t Stop Your Life

While everyone’s saying ‘keep creating’, which like, yes do that, but do it at your own pace. If you don’t feel like creating right now, take the time for yourself. Your mental health matters and if you need to chill for sec and take a hot minute-- please do that first. Make sure you’re in your own headspace, a healthy headspace, and then create. Take your time. Take all the time you need. It’s not a competition and there’s no stress with being creative. There is absolutely no pressure to create or do anything you might not want to do. Work on you, and things that’ll make you the best you. Your art will be there for you as soon as you’re ready for it. I’ve said it before and I’ll definitely say it again, look up. Once you’ve hit the bottom look up because that’s where you’re headed! You won’t stay at the bottom forever, and this will not last. Keep going, keep living-- whatever that means for you. Sorta like how I started this post out, just breathe. You’ll be okay.



As always, I’m gonna leave you with some song lyrics. Music is my thing and I love some good dramatic lyrics to end with…


Gonna build a paper plane to float to you, you know, don’t you know. We’ll be scraping the skies with our fingertips, screaming ‘this is the life, we were born for this’. See, I’ve got plans to get to you, you know, don’t you know…” (Plans by Oh Wonder)


Stand Clear Of The Closing Doors Please,

Lex


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page