top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexi Venezia

II: Keep Your Head Up

Heyo! What’s good? I’m just gonna hop right into this one. Things going on right now with this stupid Corona virus? It sucks. Even I can see that this is not a good thing and everything literally just kind of sucks right now. Trust me, so much was ripped from me too, and it’s left me feeling just absolutely gutted. I’m a college senior and I was supposed to graduate in May from Marymount Manhattan College in New York City. I say supposed to, but nothing will stop me. Maybe my commencement will be a tad different than your traditional walking across the stage and receiving a diploma thing, but I’ve done the work and you bet I’m still graduating baby!!! If you’re a senior too, be it high school or college, hear me out, it’s going to be okay. The class of 2020 has a powerful voice, so make sure you speak up and raise it!! There are some things that no one can take from you. Don’t believe me? Yeah, that’s okay, sometimes I feel a little hopeless too. But I know for a fact that this will be okay. Lemme give you a little hope here.


First and foremost, feel what you feel. I’m one of those people that can’t stand being sad. I’ve learned that you’ve got to be sad sometimes, and that’s so okay. Cry it out dog! How else would you know when you’re happy again? Feel it to the fullest, cry it out, let yourself grieve, that’s normal. Just don’t forget to breathe. If you’re feeling like you’re at the bottom, that’s okay because there’s nowhere to go but up. So when you’re ready, start climbing, you’ll get back up there soon!

It’s so hard and I’d be lying if I said this didn’t hurt my heart. I was ripped from so many things, my best friends, my dorm life, my college campus, my senior days and ceremonies, all of that. Those things were everything to me. But ya know what? There’s so many things that weren’t taken from me. The memories I made in college are some of the greatest of my life. While going to school in Manhattan was all but a ‘normal’ college experience, it was something I didn’t know I needed to show me who I am and who I want to be. That is something that no virus (or person for that matter) will ever take from me-- or you!! Keep that in mind. Whether you’ve lost something in this social isolation or not, who you are and what you do is something that no one can ever take from you. Period.



Now if you’re someone who thrives on social interaction, like me, this gets tricky. While I’m not physically with my best friends and some of the most amazing people I’ve ever met, they’re not gone. Remember that! Your friends are still right there for you. Lean on each other, maybe this is a little dark, but misery loves company. Maybe you’re sad (I’m sad too, I get it), but be sad together. Why not right? Find comfort in the fact that you’re not alone in this AT ALL. This goes for everyone, maybe it’s your college classmates, maybe it’s your work colleagues, maybe it’s your childhood neighbors, everyones been hit by this. This could be a whole lot worse. Use the support system you have and have always had-- that’s not gone either. Call your pals, text them, make Tik Tok's with them, snap them (I’m a huge fan of Snapchat…. rip….) FaceTime them, Oovoo them (is that still a thing or am I just old now?) or Zoom them! I set up a Zoom party with my friends whom I already miss and I’ll tell you, it’s been less than 24 hours since I’ve seen them. Personally, I need these relationships, and I feel so far from them. If you’re like me, remember what you have access to and control what you can control!


Also remember that your friends aren’t leaving you. This is a temporary condition where we’re just trying to figure out how to stay as safe as possible (wash your hands & stay home y’all, let’s end this madness). No one really knows what to do or how to handle this, and that’s okay for now. We’ll figure it out! Also, in case you forgot, the strongest bonds you create will NEVER leave your life. No matter how far away they may seem, they’re not going anywhere. Distance means absolutely nothing when your people have that place in your heart. Maybe you’re states away, a country away, or even on the other side of the globe, they’re never far from you. They’re just as broken up about having to separate from you, as you are about them. It’s going to be okay. Breathe fam, just breathe.



Another thing! Throughout this whole thing, remember to create. Don’t let your craft end because you cannot physically do what you’re dying to do. I understand that this isn’t always an easy thing to do. Trust me, I get it. I’ve been told to take a dance class through an online platform-- still kind of unclear on how that whole thing is supposed to work, but ya know what, we’ll get creative and figure it out. If you’re not an artist, tell your story in another way. Maybe you like to bake! So bake! There’s so much possibility out there for you. Everyone’s got a story to tell, so tell it! Even if you wanna reach out and tell it to me, hey, I’ll listen.


Just because things aren’t ideal right now doesn’t mean that the sun won’t rise. The world keeps turning and the sun keeps rising. I went through something once that I didn’t think I’d ever get out of, and the words that echoed in my brain were “you will rise again”, so I did what any rational young 20- something would do… I got a tattoo. It’s a small sun no larger than the size of a quarter, on my left ankle. Basic? Yeah maybe. But when I tell you the strength I’ve found in such a small ink blot, it’s all worth it. It reminds me that I deserve to rise no matter what. You can rise too, it’s all perspective friends. Again, not an ideal situation we’re thrown here, but don’t dwell on that. Think of how good it’s going to feel when you finally get to see your people again-- that tight hug with your best friend, the new laughs you’ll share, the smiles that will be stuck on your faces, the celebratory drink you’ll share because you get to be together again! Hang on to that idea. This won’t last forever, once again, you’ll be okay. This super sucks, but it will get better one day. And that’s a promise.




As always, I’m gonna leave you with some song lyrics. Music is my thing and I love some good dramatic lyrics to end with…


“Time- capsule for the future, trust me, that’s what I will be”. (Church by Fall Out Boy)


Stand Clear Of The Closing Doors Please,

Lex

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page